Modeling is a notoriously ruthless industry, but those who claw their way to the top are often incredibly well- compensated for their success. Starring on a reality show and possessing social media wizardry definitely helps (looking at you, Gigi Hadid and Kendall Jenner), but the road to supermodel-dom is famously uncertain and subject to fashion whims.

Forbes‘ list of the top-earning models of 2016 offers some insight: the original Brazilian bombshell still reigns supreme (Gisele Bündchen held on to her number one spot despite retiring from the runway, and lithe beauties like Karlie Kloss (who doubled her earnings from 2015) continue to nab ad campaigns left and right. But being a social media powerhouse is more important then ever (Jenner’s cash flow increased by 150 percent this year, tying her with Kloss for third).

Below, browse the 20 top models of the year, plus the often staggering amount of cash they made in 2016.

1. Gisele Bündchen ($30,500,000)

2. Adriana Lima ($10,500,000)

Thank you @airbnb for putting me up in the Marvelous City…there is no better way for me to feel at home 😌😌

A post shared by Adriana Lima (@adrianalima) on

3. Karlie Kloss ($10,000,000)

30,000 elephants a year? #knotonmyplanet 🐘 Tie a knot. Donate. knotonmyplanet.org

A post shared by Karlie Kloss (@karliekloss) on

4. Kendall Jenner ($10,000,000)

unpublished by @mertalas + @macpiggott

A post shared by Kendall (@kendalljenner) on

5. Gigi Hadid ($9,000,000)

@tommyxgigi

A post shared by Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid) on

6. Rosie Huntington-Whiteley ($9,000,000)

@ELLEBrasil! #Repost @teamrhw 🌟

A post shared by Rosie HW (@rosiehw) on

7. Cara Delevingne ($8,500,000)

🐶

A post shared by Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne) on

8. Candice Swanepoel ($7,000,000)

Tropical heat @guyaroch

A post shared by Candice Swanepoel (@angelcandices) on

9. Liu Wen ($7,000,000)

Ready for the evening✨ @esteelauder #LW4EL #esteemodel

A post shared by Liu Wen (刘雯) (@liuwenlw) on

10. Miranda Kerr ($6,000,000)

A post shared by Miranda (@mirandakerr) on

11. Lara Stone ($5,500,000)

#CR9 @carineroitfeld @sebastianfaena ❤️🐰❤️

A post shared by Lara Stone (@lara_stone) on

12. Natalia Vodianova ($5,500,000)

13. Kate Moss ($5,000,000)

14. Alessandra Ambrosio ($5,000,000)

Angel Mode 👼🏼💫 #vsholiday16 @victoriassecret 📸 by @jeromeduran

A post shared by Alessandra Ambrosio (@alessandraambrosio) on

15. Doutzen Kroes ($5,000,000)

16. Joan Smalls ($4,500,000)

They don't Love you like I love you 💞 🎤💞

A post shared by Joan Smalls (@joansmalls) on

17. Lily Aldridge ($4,000,000)

18. Jasmine Tookes ($4,000,000)

Thank you @florido for bringing my hair color back to life!! 💋

A post shared by Jasmine Tookes (@jastookes) on

19. Taylor Hill ($4,000,000)

Tommy Hilfiger!!! ❤️ @tommyhilfiger #TommyxGigi congrats on this collection @gigihadid 😍 #TommyNow

A post shared by Taylor Hill (@taylor_hill) on

20. Barbara Palvin ($4,000,000)

Ready for tonight 👄

A post shared by Barbara Palvin (@realbarbarapalvin) on

Check out the full list on Forbes.